Hello! Today we'll talk about lead generation. From this article you will find out who is a lead and what is lead generation, who is suitable for lead generation, what methods and tools exist for generating leads. What the lead generation scheme looks like, where you can buy leads and how to calculate their cost, the secret of successful lead generation.

Who is lead and what is lead generation

It is easy to guess that the concept of "lead generation" came to us from in English... It consists of two words - lead and generation. Let's analyze each word to understand the essence of the concept of "lead generation".

So, "generation" is translated as generation, formation.

The word "lead" is translated from English as a leader. However, within the concept of "lead generation" it takes on a different meaning.

Lead - that potential client of yours who, in one way or another, has already shown interest in the category of goods you offer, and whose contact information you have.

At the same time, you should distinguish leads according to the degree of interest in your proposal in order to correctly form a product proposal for each group in the future.

We propose to divide all leads into three groups:

  • Cold leads or those customers who temporarily do not need your product or do not even know about it, but whose contact information you have;
  • "Warm" leads - people whose need for your product has already formed, they know about you through advertising or another source of information;
  • "Hot" leads want to buy from you. Such a client is ready to close the deal.

Leads are classified according to a point system. To do this, create a table: the rows will contain "leads", and the columns will contain the marketing communications tools that you use on this moment... At the intersection of rows and columns, give a point if the leader has encountered a particular source of information.

Such a table will look something like this:

Mailing list Telemarketing A personal meeting
Alexander 1 1 1
Maria 0 1 0
Alexei 0 0 0

It is easy to guess from the table that lead Alexander is ready to make a purchase; all that remains is to lead him to this action. But Alexey is completely “cold”, the company needs to exert more targeted influence on him in order to bring him to the required “temperature”.

Now that we know what a "lead" is, we can answer the question of what is lead generation in business.

Who is lead generation suitable for?

There is no business area for which lead generation is categorically not suitable. Therefore, we will divide the types of business according to their predisposition to using such a tool as lead generation.

Lead generation - three times "yes"!

It is most beneficial to use lead generation for online sales. Moreover, it does not have of great importance what exactly are you selling. This is due to the fact that it will not be difficult to see the client's interest in your product online, and you can get contacts in virtual space much easier.

However, there are limitations here as well. We advise you to resort to lead generation for online sellers of high-value goods, their cost should exceed at least 5,000 rubles per unit. If you offer cheaper products, it is preferable to collect them in kits or offer them for purchase in small wholesale. This will allow you to avoid unnecessary costs.

Worth a try.

If you are offering pre-selection products in a highly competitive market, then lead generation is for you. Examples of such products are automobiles, travel agency services, insurance services, educational services, banking services, and consulting services.

More likely no than yes".

Lead generation is the least effective for selling inexpensive impulse buying products, if only because it will be difficult for you to get the necessary contact details of potential customers. And the cost of analyzing and collecting data in this case will not meet expectations.

Also, you should not resort to lead generation if you offer a too specific and complex product that requires special knowledge not only from the seller, but also from the buyer.

Lead generation tools and methods

At the moment, there are 3 groups of lead generation methods. They differ from each other in the type of channels through which work with leads is carried out. Each of the three methods, in turn, has several instruments of influence. Let's consider them.

Lead generation methods implemented through personal interaction with the client

Personal interaction techniques are more suitable for companies in the corporate sector of the economy. They can also be used for the B2C market, but only if you offer an expensive exclusive product to a narrow target audience. In other cases, it will be ineffective and costly for the company.

So, this group contains the following methods:

  • Personal business meetings.

A great way to identify customers interested in a product, allowing them to immediately express your proposal. Before making an appointment, you need to work out a list of contacts of potential customers and choose a contact method for inviting them to a meeting. If you work in the B2B market, then you can find data to contact a representative of the organization on the official website of the prospective client.

If you are a representative consumer market, then we recommend that you use corporate groups and social media pages of competing companies to obtain contact information. Look at the list of subscribers of such "publics" and you will get a large number of personal pages"Cold" and "warm" leads, whose contacts you can easily get during a personal meeting.

After you've worked your contact list , it is necessary to draw up a script and text of the meeting . In this case, the script and text must necessarily affect the interests and motives of buying a lead. Please note that you do not need to memorize the meeting test, it is necessary in order to direct the dialogue in the direction we need.

  • Phone calls.

As a rule, this method is implemented through cold calls. An autoinformer or the so-called "customer service manager" talks to potential clients and reads the text "from a piece of paper." We want to warn you against such a decision. Template text scares away and annoys a potential customer, alienating them from purchasing your product.

In “calls” a personalized approach to a potential consumer is important. During a telephone conversation, you need to take into account his needs and wishes and convince a potential client that it is your product that can the best way solve the problem of.

First, spend a little marketing research: Determine what your product is for a specific customer, what price segment it belongs to, and how ready it is to purchase.

for instance you sell organic cosmetics self made... Potential client “A” found your site using “Yandex search” for “natural cosmetics for dandruff”. On the site, he looked through several pages describing natural shampoos, and then left without buying. Thus, we know that a potential client is looking for a solution to the problem of combating dandruff, we know the price segment to which he belongs, his gender (thanks to the pages of our website that he visited).

Secondly, given the data obtained , make a list of topics of conversation. For our client "A" these will be the dandruff control products you can offer.

Once you've gone through the steps outlined, it's easy to win a hot lead.

  • Events and activities.

Participate in exhibitions, conferences or come as a guest. However, for the event to be beneficial for you in terms of lead generation, you need to do a lot of preparation.

Let's list what it includes:

  1. Get a list of guests - potential clients of the conference, find their contact details, collect information about them;
  2. Make an appointment at the event for potential clients (showing the reason why they benefit from meeting with you);
  3. If possible, prepare a stand with your proposal;
  4. Send out product information to potential customers shortly before the event (if you have the necessary contact details);
  5. Make a list of topics for each potential client that you will discuss at the event.

As a result, at the event you will receive already “warm” leads, which you will only need to “warm up” a little.

Internet-based lead generation methods

The Internet is an ideal tool for obtaining contact information and information about potential customers. All companies, without exception, can generate leads via the Internet, so this group of methods can be considered universal.

  • Corporate website or landing page.

This is one of the most effective methods generating leads. Potential customers come to pages from search engines ready to make a purchase. Your task is to convince you of the need to purchase goods from you.

But let's start in order. First, a potential client must choose your site from the multimillion-dollar search results. To do this, it is necessary to provide the resource with the first places in the search results with the help of the content of the pages of the site.

SEO-optimization of a site consists in creating a semantic core or a set of words or phrases most often found in search queries of users with the subsequent inclusion of these phrases in the information content of the site. You can carry out SEO optimization of the resource with the help of a third-party organization or on your own.

If you have chosen the second option, we recommend that you contact the Yandex search engine service - Yandex Direct. On this resource, select the section "Selection of words" and follow the instructions. We do not recommend including words and phrases with statistics of more than 1000 impressions per month in the semantic core. Since they are not only often found in the role of user requests, but are also quite popular among the owners of information resources, you run the risk of not being able to withstand the competition. Phrases with a frequency of 500 to 1000 impressions per month will suit you. When choosing your words, be sure to choose the region that interests you.

Then take care of the prospect's first impression of your company - develop creative design site. The resource should be readable, the interface should be intuitive, and the design should correspond to the specifics of the business. Remember about such a tool as A / B testing, which will allow you to choose the most advantageous from several solutions, based on the opinion of your target audience.

To do this, launch each of the available designs for a certain period of time and monitor the behavior of site visitors, track the number of transitions to the checkout page and the number of real orders. Based on this data, you can make an informed decision.

The next step is filling the resource . In addition to the fact that the site must go through SEO-optimization, it is necessary to fill it with complete and comprehensive information about the benefits of your products.

  • Social networks.

The most inexpensive method of generating leads, besides, it does not require any special knowledge from you.

Create a group on a social network, fill it with interesting content about your product, company. Remember that the description of the group affects the order of results in search engines. Therefore, it must be SEO-optimized before publication in order to attract visitors from search engines. As part of working with a social network, it is necessary to optimize two more structural elements of the resource - the URL and the group name.

The URL will affect the order in which the resource is displayed in the search engine, and the name of the group will affect the place of the group in the search engine of the social network. Both elements should be as relevant as possible to the most popular query from users of your topic, but the URL must necessarily reflect the action you want from the user.

for instance if you sell natural cosmetics then the group should be named Natural Cosmetics and the ideal URL would be naturalnaya_kosmetica_kupit.

After you've filled your group with information, launch an ad on the social network. It is best to tell about your group in other popular publics with similar topics, but you can use and, it will cost you more. You can post a variety of contests in the group to provoke reposts. All of this will lead to you interested people who will make good leads in the long run.

  • Contextual advertising.

It will allow you to attract to your site only those users who are really interested in purchasing the product. The only thing to remember when using this lead generation method is that the text of contextual advertising must correspond to the most frequently encountered user requests, that is, it must undergo SEO optimization. In this case, you can use words and phrases with a frequency of more than 1000 impressions per month.

Within the Yandex search engine, you can use the Yandex Direct service. To do this, click the "Place an advertisement" button and go through the authorization procedure in the Yandex. Then follow the instructions of the service. Google has a similar service, it is called Google Adwords.

The advantages of this method are simplicity and high quality leads. The disadvantages are the small number and high cost of leads.

Lead Generation Methods Implemented Using Mailings

These are the most popular lead generation methods in Russia; they are applicable to both the consumer and industrial markets. It is important to approach any type of mailing from the point of view of personalizing the appeal. We will not dwell on each type of mailing for a long time, as they are subject to the same content requirements.

A lead generation letter should contain the following structural elements:

  • A smart, personalized offer. It must solve the problem of a specific client;
  • Interesting, "loud" headline. In doing so, it must reflect your proposal;
  • A link to your website or group, where a potential client can get to know the offer better;
  • Your brand branding;
  • A button that allows you to unsubscribe from your mailing list.

In addition, it is important to remember that the letter will cause the desired reaction only if the person is interested in what you have to offer. Be sure to take a personalized approach when choosing your contacts and composing your letter.

You can send such a letter using one of four types of mailing:

  • E-mail newsletter;
  • Postal letters and flyers;
  • SMS mailing;
  • Mailings to subscribers in social networks.

Lead generation scheme

Regardless of which method and lead generation tool you choose, you must adhere to general scheme lead generation work.

It is represented by the following elements:

  • Offer- an offer that has high value for a potential client. It is the offer that should push the consumer to leave you their contact details;
  • Call to action- something that should push a potential client to go to a page with an offer. It can be a button, link, test, or image. The main thing is to interest a potential client and make him go to the offer;
  • Landing page- a page that describes all the benefits of the offer. She must convince a potential client of the need to receive an offer;
  • Lead form- a questionnaire, by filling out which a potential client will receive an offer. It should allow you to collect as much customer data as possible, but not be very long, or you risk losing the lead. The main task of the questionnaire is to collect the user's contact information, so do not forget to make these fields mandatory.

Buying leads

If you do not want to engage in lead generation on your own, you can contact the so-called lead exchanges. Usually exchanges buy out client bases from your closest competitors and provide them to you. However, in this case, the quality of the leads will be questionable. Many exchanges scam and present bots or random users as leads.

There is another way to get leads for the lazy - contacting a third-party organization, which will deal with lead generation specifically for your company. But there are also pitfalls here. Firstly, leads can be fake, that is, the same person can call and register on the site under different names... Secondly, in this case, you are also not insured against attacks by bots.

Lead cost

One of the advantages of lead generation as a tool for attracting customers is the ability to calculate the cost of one lead.

There are three models for calculating the cost of a lead:

  • CPA model, according to which you pay for a lead only after he makes a purchase or leaves a request on your website or takes another targeted action. This model is especially beneficial if you are ordering lead generation from a third party.
  • CPC model or pay per click. This is a standard calculation of the cost of leads when using contextual advertising to attract them. If a potential client "clicks" on advertisement, a certain amount of funds is debited from your account.
  • CPL model involves payment for each completed questionnaire or left contact. If a customer made a purchase, but did not leave contact information, the lead is not paid.

A practical example of the use of lead generation

To see how lead generation works in practice, you need to give a living example. Let's take for this our online store of natural cosmetics, which is located in the Moscow region. Lead generation budget - 5,000 rubles.

The social network Vkontakte was chosen as a lead generation tool. The first thing we did was create an offer, a landing page and a profile on the official website of the online store. This step will always be the first step on the road to lead generation. The second step is to create a group on a social network, place a link to the offer there and fill in the information fields, using SEO optimization.

To optimize the resource, we went to the Yandex Direct word selection service, selected the “Moscow” region in the “by regions” option, and one by one checked each word and phrase related to our topic for the frequency of requests.

As we remember, for SEO-optimization of a group on a social network, there are three elements that need to be worked out - name, URL and description. In this case, the initial base of words and phrases for the URL should reflect the action that we expect to receive from the user, in our case it is “buy”, “order”, “purchase”, “make” and so on.

The most popular query among Moscow users turned out to be "Natural Cosmetics", which will become the name of the group. It will suit us as the name of the group.

Of the action phrases, the most popular was "Buy Natural Cosmetics", which will be our URL.

To describe the group, we chose 15 more words and phrases of our subject with a frequency of at least 500 and no more than 1000 impressions per month.

The next step is to advertise in popular communities with similar topics or in communities that our the target audience... To do this, select the "Advertising" section in Vkontakte. Inside the section, select the "Available sites" subsection and enter the parameters to search for a suitable group.

In our case, it is enough to choose the topic "Beauty and Fashion" and see which communities offer themselves as an advertising platform and at what price. When choosing a site for advertising, we recommend that you go to the communities and view its subscribers on the topic of the city of residence. We need subscribers from Moscow.

We chose two communities at a price of 2,433 rubles and 885 rubles, no more lead generation costs are required, which means that we have met the 5,000 rubles budget. After waiting a while, you will receive an influx of leads from both the social network and search engines.

Factors of successful lead generation

Each lead generation method has its own secret formula for success.

In personal interaction it is important to work out the scenario of the appeal and conversation with a potential client. It must be remembered that they should be as personalized as possible. This is possible only after receiving and analyzing information about the future lead.

Thus, the formula for lead generation success through personal contact is as follows:

Collection and analysis of information about a potential customer + personalized text of the first call to the customer (invitation) + personalized script of the contact itself.

Internet requires other ingredients for successful lead generation.

First of all, this is a high-quality offer on your website, which a potential client should go to after seeing contextual advertising, a link in the search results or a group. The offer must be valuable to your prospect. This means that the second component of success will be the collection and analysis of information about your target audience, to which the offer is targeted. The second component of success is good contextual advertising, a link in a group, and optimized website content. That is, everything that brings a potential client to the offer.

Thus, the formula for success for lead generation over the Internet contains the following terms:

Marketing research of the target audience + Qualitative offer + Qualitative link to the offer.

Success formula for lead generation through mailings consists in strict adherence to the structure of the letter, which has already been described above. At the same time, it is important to remember that the letter should be as personalized as possible and offer only what may be of interest to your potential client. Therefore, even here one cannot do without researching the needs and preferences of the consumer.

The formula for successful email lead generation is as follows:

Researching the needs of a potential client + Compliance with the structure of the letter + Personalization of the letter.

In Russia, many entrepreneurs neglect lead generation. First of all, this is due to the unsuccessful experience of cooperation with lead exchanges and lead generating organizations. But you shouldn't once “blow on water after being burnt in milk”. Lead generation - promising direction in marketing, which allows you to get potential customers for your company at a relatively low cost.

Without a stream of potential customers, no business can survive. Therefore, every marketer struggles to develop advertising campaigns and create new ways to attract leads. However, we know that capturing people's attention and converting them into buyers is not easy. Internet users have developed immunity to standard advertising messages. And the little tricks of online psychology come into play.

In this article, you will learn 12 effective techniques that will simplify lead generation and increase the number of customers who are really interested in your offer.

Landing pages

Seems to be explored far and wide. In fact, there are dozens, if not hundreds, of ways to optimize them. It is possible that you have heard about many, but did not dare to implement. See what results they bring.

Shoot a product video

Some studies say 65% ​​of people are visual. It's a sin not to use this way of presenting information on your landing page. A high-quality video perfectly attracts attention, and, most importantly, increases conversion by 33-35%.

Don't forget about the viral effect. People willingly share what is valuable and interesting. As a result, the link to the landing page can be distributed completely free of charge.

If you think that a cool video must be ordered in a cool studio, then in vain. You can also shoot it on an iPhone, or use online services (for example, Animoto and Powtoon). This requires a minimum of technical skills.

The criteria for a selling video are laconic (no more than 2 minutes) and interesting (in no case, do not remove the "talking head" with an official report). Most the best option- show a product or service in action.

Avoid mentioning spam in your lead form

Danish marketer Mikael Ogard tested several forms where the signature said “we will never send you spam”. The result is a decrease in conversion by 18-21%.

If you want to alleviate user concerns, it is better to use more neutral expressions. For example, “100% confidentiality guarantee”.

Limit selection

The fewer additional links next to the lead form, the higher the conversion. Distractions for landing pages are enemy # 1. For example, MySiteAuditor increased their lead form conversions by 25% by eliminating the top menu.

As it was:

and how it became:

Content marketing

Becoming the most effective lead generation approach. If your corporate website doesn't have a blog, then it's time to start one.

Post new content regularly

At the very beginning, it is recommended to draw up a detailed content plan for at least 3 months. What and when will you publish. The optimal frequency of the release of materials in each niche is different. Some services release something new every day, and this is justified at the start of a content campaign. There have been cases of doubling of organic traffic literally in 5-6 months after daily publications.

At least write once a week. And in any case, be guided by the response of the target audience.

Create an email newsletter

Blog readers get news on email is a powerful reinforcement for their engagement. Those who liked your materials will definitely subscribe to the newsletter. The optimal place for the subscription widget is the right sidebar + call at the end of the article.

Post long-term content

Surely in many blogs you have come across articles 2-3 years ago, which are interesting and relevant to this day. Over time, such content does not disappear without a trace, but continues to tirelessly generate traffic. Plus, popular materials from past years can be updated a bit and published again. For example, given recent changes in branch.

Optimize your About Us page

Typically, the description of the company is yawning or nauseous. So model good examples. Moreover, not necessarily from your niche, since competitors, as a rule, have the same thing. Take a look at an example of the American video studio LessFilms:

Unusual images, witty texts and light humor not only make the About page memorable, but form positive associations with your brand. Again, a viral effect is possible.

Pop-up windows

No matter who says anything negative about pop-up windows, they effectively convert leads. For example, the blog of the Aweber service, thanks to them, increased the number of subscribers 13 times in 7 months. The main condition for the effectiveness of the reception is unobtrusiveness and confidential style of address, without "bazaar chants".

A number of tests have shown that the optimal time for showing the pop-up is 2.5 minutes after opening the page. Do not immediately pounce on the visitor, let him read it. By the way, the same recommendation applies to online consultants.

Segmentation of Twitter leads

Twitter account is great at generating leads in smart niches (IT, internet marketing, business consulting, etc.) Followerwonk platform helps to filter readers by the degree of engagement, and, therefore, closeness to the paid offer.

LinkedIn

Perhaps this is the least studied network on Russian market... And in vain, because LinkedIn is best suited for the B2B sphere. Look at the results of a survey of marketers in the United States which network they think is the best for generating leads.

Offline ways

Potential clients still live not only on the Internet. Strange, isn't it? Seriously though, the last 2 methods are successfully attracting and will attract leads at all times.

Performances at live events

There are professional associations in almost every niche. If not in your city, then in the neighboring one. And they bring together live conferences and seminars at least a few times a year.

Even a short presentation of 10-15 minutes can attract ... exactly how much depends only on your expertise. The main thing is that the content of the speech should be saturated with information that is really useful for the target audience.

Strategic partnership

A number of businesses are promoted only through partnerships. Especially in the online marketing niche, you can create an entire lead exchange system. Naturally, not with competitors, but with related businesses. For example, a web studio and a contextual advertising agency.

As a conclusion, we once again urge you to test every technique, and high sales to you!

Lead- “first move”, “introductory part”.

Function - active, dynamic start of news material.

The lead logically continues the headline, informs the reader of the main information about the event, without touching on details and secondary facts. We can say that if the headline announces the news, then the lead gives the reader a synopsis of it.

Lead size is 30-50 words, often it is highlighted in type (bold, bold, or italic). The lead can be detached from the corpus, but is often the first paragraph of text.

The practice of journalism has developed many options for composing a lead. The most common news items include:

Concise - a summary of the key facts in order of importance. It is often constructed as an answer to six "classic questions" or to some of them with an emphasis on the main point. It is used in materials about current events and affairs.

Last week, the Nerpa shipyard of the Northern Fleet put into operation an installation supplied by the Americans for cutting nuclear submarines. "

Capsule - used in materials about well-known events that have passed into a new quality, have received further development or ended. The goal is to show their dynamism or climax.

The year before last, Australian scientists found a large piece of a meteorite in Antarctica. It was named "Murcheson" and was handed out piece by piece to all the largest institutions in the world for examination. More recently, Russian and American scientists have come to an unexpected conclusion: either in Solar system long before the earthly life existed, or it originates somewhere besides the Earth ”.

Photographic - a descriptive lead, built from separate fragments ("pictures") of the event, is most often used in reporting.

On Monday, snow fell from heaven like flour from a sieve, a continuous shroud. It seemed to stretch out your hand - you would not see your fingers. We left for the ski stadium since dawn - since it's snowing, it means there will be traffic jams on the roads. And for sure: instead of one and a half hours, all three were getting there ”.

Staccato is very dynamic, built as a series of short phrases showing the rapidity of the development of an event or its unexpected, extraordinary manifestations. The author seeks to convey to the reader the growing tension, makes him think: what next?

Overturned vehicles along sidewalks and across streets. Broken shop windows. The merchants are in a panic. Indiscriminate brawls here and there. Scalding clouds of tear gas. The clatter of police batons. Growing roar: “Set fire to the gas station!”.

Intrigue - a lead is built on the use of a curious or unusual fact, contradiction, someone's ridiculous mistake or an absurd act related to the news.

In Venezuela, a country of total crime, gang warfare can affect anyone. Even the most popular Alicia Machado, who glorified her homeland with her victory in Las Vegas at the Miss World 96 contest, did not stand aside. Today she is accused ... of involvement in the attempted murder of a certain Francisco Sbert. "

Quote - direct quotation or statement of a statement about the news of a famous person, a kind of reinforcement of the material with an authoritative opinion.

- What $ 25 million? Did they say that on TV? Yes, with that kind of money here, you know, how much you can twist ... - Nikolai Shapovalov, director of the Maly Istok health and recreation complex, almost waving his hands. "

Other types of leads: dramatic, interrogative, contrasting, statistical, retrospective, etc.

When choosing a lead type, you need to consider the following points:

    when the event happened and can the reader already have any information about it;

    whether this event is simple or complex;

    whether the news is relevant to the reader;

    what aspects of the event are most important?

Answers to these questions will help you choose the best type of lead and better submit your news.

    Construction schemes

"A fairly correct idea of ​​any event or deed can be formed only when there are answers to the questions: who did what, when and where it happened, how and why it happened." (Marcus Fabius Quintilian, Roman rhetorician. "Instruction in oratory").

Disclosure of these issues is at the heart of any news story. Depending on the specific situation, the author answers either all six classic questions, or some of them.

In some cases, for full coverage of the event, it is necessary to find answers to other questions - why?, For what purpose ?, who benefits? other. However, this is no longer connected with the main content of the event, but with this detailing, development.

The grammatical forms of questions, their order, the placement of accents, the style of presentation may be different. But in general, modern news journalism tells about the facts and events of reality according to the scheme proposed by Quintilian.

Optimal schemes for constructing news materials have been developed by the practice of journalism.

The most common of the stable compositional forms of news presentation is the so-called

Lead - an application (contact) from a potential buyer, received through one of the sales channels. A contact can be considered depending on the purposes of generation: phone, email, actual address of residence.

Lead generation is the process of getting these contacts through the use of marketing tools.

There are 3 types of contacts:

Seeds (seeds)

Applications that are generated as a result of word of mouth. Their advantages: high profitability and good level... They are the hottest. But seeders have a significant drawback - there are too few of them, since they appear as a result of not completely controllable effects.

Nets

This type of contact includes applications that came through Internet marketing channels. The advantage is that there can be many of them due to the breadth of the channels used. And their generation is easily calculated and predictable. The disadvantage of nets is that many of them are not the target audience, which means their conversion is lower.

Spears

Generation of this type occurs as a result of the direct influence of the seller on them, which implies targeted personalization efforts commercial proposal... Such contacts have good conversion rates and good ROI if they are a large client. The latter advantage will turn into a disadvantage if the buyer turns out to be small.

2 types of qualifications

5 ways

Applications can be received through more than 2 dozen channels. The trick is to find your 2-3 effective ways getting leads. Pay attention to 5 of them.

Owninbound-channel

In a simple way, your own blog / site filled with useful free content. And in case the buyer is imbued with confidence, getting at his disposal useful information, he should be able to:

  • register to receive a useful newsletter
  • eBook downloads (free / paid)
  • requests for a call, consultation, webinar
  • purchasing a product

E-book or eBook

Mentioned above electronic book, Is a factor and even a channel separately that enhances lead generation. Its application is especially effective in the B2B and B2P segments. The eBook has proven itself well in the areas of complex technological solutions. Professionals value innovation and knowledge. Give it to them.

Webinars

"Promotion through learning" is the formula for this way of generating leads. The webinar itself is most often a free form of training. Take advantage of one of the platforms available. Make sure that the chosen service allows you to post forms for participants to fill out, download an eBook, subscribe to a newsletter. Promote your webinar with target audience calling, emailing and SMM.

Networking at third-party events and own event marketing

These are proven offline lead generation methods. Spears, by the way, mainly come through these channels.

Lead Generation: Another Chatbot Solution

3 simple truths of internet marketing

1. Before you promote or sell something on the Internet, make sure that the product is generally requested through a search engine. If such a request does not exist, then lead generation is also impossible. If they are requested, estimate the size of the target audience. For these purposes, you can use Wordstat.

2. If you are selling a complex and expensive product, then generating leads using Internet marketing tools is possible. But, most likely, it will take a long chain of them to get the buyer in shape. For example, application - webinar - consultation - demo - payment.

3. Clearly track all the steps that competitors take. This is especially true for their content marketing activity and offering free lead magnets. These are very serious ways to generate leads. And if you at least do not "play monkey", then you will be left behind.

Read more about ways to increase traffic in our article on.

What is lead generation and what is its essence? What are the types and methods of generating leads? What services provide lead generation services?

Hello dear readers! Again with you is the author of the magazine "HeatherBeber" Alexander Berezhnov. Today I will tell you about a new direction in Internet marketing - lead generation.

Every entrepreneur wants to bring as many clients to the business as possible. Satisfied customers are the key to prosperity. And you are ready to give 100% for them. But where to find, how to attract these people?

Think about it - while your competitors are spending budgets on expensive TV and radio advertising, you can overtake them and build successful business... And all this - with the help of a competent system for attracting potential customers.

1. What is lead generation - a complete description of the concept

The concept of lead generation (from the English. Leads generation) came to us from Western marketers as a tool for managing the flow of potential customers.

Note that a lead is not a client yet, but it can become one if you manage to attract him.

An ordinary person will turn into a lead if:

  • will see information about you and your services online or offline;
  • will need these services, i.e. will get into your target audience;
  • visits a website or makes a call;
  • leave a request or contacts for feedback, subscribe to an email newsletter.

Natural questions - what needs to be done to attract as many applications as possible? Where to find them? How to make millions of users your leads? How to declare yourself in order to grab their attention? These problems are solved by lead generation - the process of attracting, or generating leads.

Before talking about this new business process, I would like to make one important note:

Lead generation will not work on its own - it needs an appropriate "environment": high-quality content on the site, viral mailings, interesting offers, form style and other marketing aids.

2. Types and methods of attracting customers (leads)

If you think lead generation is only suitable large companies, holdings and other giants, you are wrong. A coffee shop around the corner, a private dentistry, an eco-food store or a cleaning agency will need lead generation just as much.

So where are we going to drive our leads? Most often - from the Internet, because it is this method that allows you to control the flow and conversion (the ratio of potential customers to real ones). This means the cost of attracting each client.

The most popular traffic sources (channels for attracting customers from the Web):

  1. contextual advertising... The user searches for goods and services on the Internet. If his needs match your offer (he is looking for children's orthopedic shoes, and you are selling just such shoes), the search engine will helpfully provide this very advertisement. Whether he clicks on it or not depends on the attractiveness of your offer. Usually ad impressions are free, payment is made only for the actual click on the ad. The most popular sources of contextual advertising: Yandex.Direct, GoogleAdwords. We have already written in more detail about how it works and how it works.
  2. Targeted advertising... Is your audience women from 25 to 35 who live in Samara and studied at SamSU? Thanks to targeted (from the word target - target) advertising, your ad will be shown only to them, and to no one else. You go straight to your target audience. Targeted advertising is available on social networks, where users disclose their data: age, gender, social status: Vkontakte, Facebook, Odnoklassniki.
  3. Blogs and Other Internet Marketing Tools... A good article by a respected blogger, interesting e-mail newsletter, tempting offer in the community feed.
  4. Aggregator sites: Yandex.Market, Ozone, Carprice, Avito, Mednow, other specialized or general sites that collect ads and offers.
  5. Lead Market... The place where contacts are bought and sold (yes, it's that simple). Lead sellers are popular bloggers with a large number of visitors, aggregators with huge bases data with contacts of people. The main requirement is that all these contacts must be interested in a product or service. If you are a lawyer, then your leads should have made a request somewhere for legal services and leave your data (participate in a survey or campaign, subscribe to the newsletter). Such data are objects of purchase and sale on lead exchanges.

All these sources, with correct use lead potential customers to pre-prepared "nets".

These include:

  • Landing Pages or in other words, one-page presentation sites where people go by clicking on your ad. If you trade in glasses, and in summer period launch the action "sunglasses as a gift", you can create, in addition to the main site, a separate one-page, where the types, types, colors of sunglasses will be described in detail, and your action is presented. The purpose of such a page is to encourage the visitor to leave a request, or at least their data - phone, email, log in through a profile on social networks. This is how a previously unknown person becomes a lead. A landing page is also required for calculating the cost of an advertising campaign.
  • Main site settings... A pop-up window with an online consultant, an offer to order feedback, a request for authorization through a social network - all these are "tricks" of lead generation to reset contacts of potential customers.

The described methods are suitable for finding and generating leads on the Internet. There are offline methods: TV and radio advertising, banners, paper letters and other types of common advertising. Their main drawback is the impossibility of calculating the cost of attracting one client, because traditional advertising is most often addressed to an unlimited number of people and deprives us of the opportunity to address everyone personally.

3. Practical examples of lead generation

Here are some practical examples to show you how lead generation works.

Example 1. Advertising campaign "Sunglasses to the masses!"

The company "Points for All" is successfully developing. She has 5 points of sale in shopping centers Moscow, online store. By the summer season, it was decided to hold a campaign "Sunglasses to the masses!" In order to raise sales, increase brand awareness, and attract new customers to other products.

The first thing a marketer of a company starts with is to make a list keywords... The keyword display statistics service "wordstat.yandex" for the query "Sunglasses" produces the following combinations:

  • sunglasses - 60 thousand requests;
  • sunglasses - 17 thousand requests;
  • buy sunglasses - 2 thousand requests;
  • sunglasses for men - 1 thousand requests;
  • women's sunglasses - 1 thousand requests.

Since the online store delivers goods throughout the country, it is not necessary to separate regions. Now users who have entered these phrases in Yandex will see a pre-approved ad: “ Buy sunglasses with a 50% discount until July 1, 2016».

In the first month, this ad was shown 400 times. 100 times it went to the site (every fourth user). These 100 people can become our leads in the near future, provided that they like the price, delivery terms, website design, etc.

Out of 100 people, 3 made a purchase, 1 called the office, 2 left their e-mail in the feedback form, 3 contacted an online consultant. In total, we received 9 leads (3 of which are already customers).

Example 2. Advertising campaign "Lenses"

The same eyewear company decided to boost sales.

The result seemed to the company's management insufficient. Or maybe it knows the motto of lead generation: "There are never too many clients"? It was decided to try other traffic channels. For this, an advertising campaign "Lenses" has been chosen, which will be implemented in the social network Vkontakte.

Here was created an ad “On Birthday, every second lenses as a gift”. The target audience was chosen: women over 18 years old, living in Russia, who have a birthday in the coming week. Payment for ad clicks has been determined.

During the week of placement, 300 people went over the announcement, 6 bought lenses for the promotion, 5 took part in the survey, 5 called the office. All 16 people are leads, of which 6 are successful clients.

Example 3. Advertising campaign "Glasses with diamonds"

The management liked the new ways to attract leads and wanted to try another option. This time, it was decided to take a chance and buy leads on the exchange. For these purposes, the third advertising campaign "Glasses with Diamonds" was created.

Having registered on one of the exchanges, the marketer applied for a purchase, specifying the following parameters:

  • gender: any;
  • age - from 30 years;
  • region of residence: Moscow and St. Petersburg;
  • required contacts: phone and e-mail;
  • availability of work (desirable);
  • marital status: there is a partner;
  • interested in buying high quality and beautiful glasses.

The exchange has set a price for a lead in the amount of 600 rubles. 50 contacts were provided. The marketer sent them offers to buy eyeglasses with temples encrusted with diamonds, promoting them as a possible birthday present for their partner or themselves. Potential customers were followed by a call. As a result, 11 people made an order.

Below, in practical examples I will provide calculations that reflect the results of each of the 3 advertising campaigns.

4. Advantages and disadvantages of lead generation

Like any human creation, lead generation is imperfect. It should be considered as one of the ways to attract customers to your business. One way - not the only one.

Consider the advantages and disadvantages of lead generation in the form of a table

If you are a professional internet marketer, know how to work with numbers and find suitable customer acquisition channels, then this tool will help you as a marketer or business owner to increase profits and recoup advertising costs.

5. Calculating the cost of leads based on specific examples (CPL model)

The main advantage of online lead generation is the ability to calculate the price of each potential client. How to do it?

There are several ways to calculate payment in internet marketing:

  1. CPA-model (Cost per Acquisition). Payment for purchase. The lead must make a purchase or leave a request on your website. In some cases - to take part in the vote, subscribe to the mailing list, otherwise leave your contacts.
  2. CPC-model (Cost per Click). Pay per click. Everything is much simpler here - the user clicks on your ad - the amount is debited from the account. What this user will do next - leave a request or immediately close the page - the seller does not care.
  3. CPL-model (Cost per Lead). Payment for a client's contact, or rather, for contact details and a social portrait of a future client. CPL is the main indicator of the quality of lead generation that meets the requirements of the market. There is a contact - there is a payment. The lead "snapped" without leaving any information about himself - the money remains with you.

If you attract customers to your business using lead generation, it will be useful for you to learn how to calculate the cost of one lead using the CPL model.

To track the number of deals made with clients attracted using this marketing tool, it is recommended, in addition to the landing page (one-page site), allocate a separate phone number that will be shown only within the framework of a specific advertising campaign. Then you can accurately count the number of requests from the landing page and the number of calls made by potential customers.

Let me remind you that not all applications become clients. The CPL model calculates the cost of leads - potential customers. The cost of converting a lead into a customer is a separate expense item and another topic.

So, let's calculate the cost of one lead using the example of the "Sunglasses" advertising campaign.

Known data:

  • the number of clicks on the ad (reflected in the metric) - 100 clicks;
  • cost per click (CPC, set in the advertising campaign settings) - 150 rubles;
  • number of leads (the number of applications on the site plus the number of calls is considered. This requires a separate landing page - a page and a separate phone number) - 9 leads.

Step 1. Let's calculate the budget for the "Sunglasses" campaign: it is enough to multiply the number of clicks by the cost of one click. We get: Budget = 100 * 150 = 15000 (rubles).

Step 2. We calculate the cost per lead (CPL). Everything is simple here - the budget must be divided by the number of leads: 15,000 / 9 = 1,666 (rubles per application). So, the cost of a lead is 1666 rubles.

Is it a lot or a little? This is a natural question. Depends on the margin on the average check. If it does not exceed the price of a lead (not even a client, but just a lead), urgently change either the traffic source, or the ad text, or the cost of the transition.

It helps to navigate the effectiveness of an advertising campaign. An indicator such as conversion (CTR)- the ratio of the number of visitors to the site (page) to the number of contacts - people who left an application. Let's calculate it for the "Sunglasses" campaign:

Step 3. Conversions - 100, leads - 9. Conversion (CR) = number of leads / number of visitors = 9/100 = 9 (%). So, the conversion is 9%.

Everything is learned by comparison, and so is the effectiveness of the source.

Make a comparison table of all customer acquisition channels.

For example, let's take our "Sunglasses", which were promoted with the help of context, and also add the campaign "Lenses" and "Glasses with diamonds"

Indicators Sunglasses Lenses Glasses with diamonds
1 CPL (cost per click)RUB 150RUB 45RUB 600
2 Number of transitions100 300 50
3 BudgetRUB 15,000RUB 13,500RUB 30,000
4 Number of leads9 16 11
5 CPL (cost per lead)RUB 1,666844 RUBRUB 2,727
6 CR (conversion)9 % 5,3 % 22 %

What do we see? "Glasses with diamonds", despite the high cost per click (as much as 600 rubles) and the high cost of one lead (2727 rubles), showed a very, very good conversion.

Lenses "lose" in terms of conversion, but the cost of attracting one application is also low. Our "Sunglasses" turned out to be the most ineffective advertising campaign - the budget is higher, as is the cost of a lead.

To have full information, it is better to observe the situation in dynamics. Create a similar spreadsheet for advertising campaigns several months in advance to see progress. Discard ineffective decisions immediately or correct depending on the season, actions of competitors, etc.

6. Where to buy leads - lead generation agencies

You've got a basic understanding of lead generation, and by reading this article, you've most likely tried this tool on for your own business.

  • Are contextual or targeted advertising right for you?
  • Do you want to do lead generation yourself?
  • Are you ready to explore a new field?

If yes, then you can skip this section. Your next plans - learning the basics SMM and SEO.

But if employment does not allow you to plunge into this fascinating process with your head, it is better to hire a company that will provide an integrated approach - the flow of leads from all traffic sources, from the creation of a landing page and content, to Yandex.Direct and social networks.

Such firms are called lead generation agencies ... How do they differ from exchanges? The main task of the exchange is to bring together the buyer and seller of orders in one place, help them find each other, receiving their commission for this. On the exchange, you just buy leads. The agency offers lead generation services from all sources, including the same exchanges.

If you are thinking about buying turnkey applications, such agencies are suitable to do the rough work for you: find keywords, compose and place ads, create a landing page, track performance. But there are things that you still have to do on your own if you want the costs to pay off:

  1. Check your keyword list carefully... Take the time to enter each suggested key in Wordstat to compare the number of requests.
  2. Create a portrait of the target client, on which this or that advertising campaign is focused.
  3. Check ad correctness before launch... If a third-party manager for a defect or unknowingly gives false information, you risk not gaining, but losing customers and reputation;
  4. Control the cost of one lead and the effectiveness of the money spent... Feel free to ask, ask again, ask again. Your money is your rule.

And most importantly - mercilessly part with ineffective advertising campaigns, managers and agencies! Remember: all services for generating orders should be aimed at profit. You do not need to receive targeted applications for a “tick”, and “so that it is like all serious companies”.

7. How to start a lead generation service business

Have you tried to attract clients to your business and did you like it? Moreover, you are very good at it, did you get carried away and decided to develop a new direction? Wondering where to start? You have several options:

  • Selling leads: create a website with high-quality content, promote it in the search, creating a stream of visitors and readers. Sell ​​these contacts to interested buyers through the exchange, agencies, freelancers. Main problem: Quality writing takes time, professionalism and patience. You will have to work for a long time, but the flow of applications will be of high quality.
  • Open a lead generation agency by providing a turnkey service for attracting potential clients. You will have to master all sources of traffic, learn how to work with them. But the main task is to find clients. You can do this, as you already understood, using your favorite application generation. Main problem: Find clients rich enough to afford all-inclusive marketing, but not so poor as not to afford at least lead generation.
  • Teach everyone this art... You can record some videos with free lessons by uploading them to Youtube. Of course, develop a landing page and attract applications for it. Main problem: to convince people that they can make money on new profession and not be considered a "bastard". By investing in training, people want a ready-made solution, and you will give them “just” the means to find that solution.
  • Create an exchange for selling contacts of potential customers... You will first have to purchase the data, selectively verify their authenticity, and then put it up for sale. The scheme is the same: website (landing page), attracting potential customers, buying and selling. Main problem: torn between sellers who see their leads as ideal and buyers who hold the opposite view.

The business must be profitable. Therefore, take your time, any successful project requires preparation:

  1. Drawing up a business plan... Who are you planning to sell your services to? At what price? Who are your clients? How are you going to attract them? How many investments do you need to make and how quickly will they pay off? The number and quality of staff. Optimistic and pessimistic forecasts. I have previously written about.
  2. Enterprise registration... SP or LLC? Taxation system. Overhead costs, non-operating and sales costs, structure of services. or we wrote in previous articles.
  3. Market research... Who are your competitors? What are the strengths and weaknesses? Market capacity, segmentation, niche that you plan to occupy.

Learning is an important part of preparation. Identify and fill knowledge gaps. If accounting can be transferred to, then the main type of activity at first is your responsibility. Where can you learn how to generate customers? This will be discussed further.

8. Academy of lead generation and other available training methods

How can you get comprehensive, complete knowledge of all the nuances of lead generation? - Learn from trusted masters who will explain, chew, show and tell. Most often, training takes place online, and consists of lessons and homework.

Among the major educational projects, the Academy of Lead Generation stands out. “Delicious” offers, promises of millions, excellent feedback from participants - I want to go to study right now.

But there is no magic. Whether you are going to study at the Academy, or any other educational institution, remember: rescuing drowning people is the work of the drowning people themselves. To ensure that learning is successful and not frustrating, follow these simple guidelines:

  • do not expect ready-made recipes from teachers that will lead you to a brighter future without investment on your part. You will have to work a lot on your own, experiment, make mistakes, develop your own methods. And if you still think about starting your own business, you will also need material investments.
  • decide what you want to do, find your own business, idea... Will these be lead generation services, or do you intend to attract customers to your existing business, open a new one? Without an idea, lessons are only half useful.

Self-education is also an effective (and free) way of learning. The Internet is filled with articles, blogs, video tutorials that will give you a complete understanding of this Internet marketing technique, and your persistence, patience and practice (more practice!) Will gradually make you a professional lead manager.

Then you will begin to understand who is who, where you can turn for advice and give money for experience.

9. Conclusion

Lead generation- it developing direction in marketing, whose task is attract customers to business ... This is true both for the marketers of the company and for its direct owners (managers).

Leads- these are potential customers who are interested in the service and who have provided their contacts for feedback.

This way of getting contacts potential buyers will only be useful if used correctly. You need to carefully study the tools, and most importantly - to calculate the efficiency in monetary terms.

Sources of Mass Lead Generation: social networks, blogs, lead exchange, contextual advertising. All of these channels should lead potential customers either to your main site or to a landing page created specifically for your ad campaign.

Those who have mastered the wisdom of this Internet marketing tool, with the right approach, can open several types of business at once, listed above in the article.

The main recipe for mastering a new specialty: work hard, practice and an idea that you will bring to life through the generation of applications. No training center and the most professional lead manager will give ready-made recipes. All in your hands!

If this article was useful to you, leave your feedback in the comments. This is very important for us, thanks in advance.